Texas Heritage Songwriters Association to Induct Joe Ely, Will Jennings, Roy Orbison and JD Souther Into Hall of Fame During Its Annual Awards Show

10th Annual Hall of Fame Awards Show at Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theater to feature a host of incredible Texas songwriter acts, including:  A Joe Ely performance with special visit by friend, Robert Earl Keen; an honoring of JD Souther; a tribute to the mega-hits of Will Jennings with performances by Rita Coolidge and Rodney Crowell; and a fitting performance and tribute by The Mavericks’ frontman Raúl Malo to Roy Orbison.
AUSTIN, Texas, January 21, 2016 — The 10th Annual Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association (TxHSA) Hall of Fame Awards Show will take place Sunday, February 21st, 2016 at ACL Live at The Moody Theater in downtown Austin, Texas. This year’s honorees include music legends Roy Orbison, Joe Ely, JD Souther and Will Jennings. A limited number of seats are available to the public, with ticket sales now available online. In addition, two hundred new floor seats have been made available today.
“Our 2016 Hall of Fame show will be a music aficionado’s dream,” said Joe Ables, Texas Heritage Songwriters’ board member and founder of Austin’s landmark Saxon Pub. “If live performances from our very own 2016 Texas State Musician Joe Elyand past TxHSA honoree Robert Earl Keen aren’t enough, just wait until you hear our other star-studded performances. Rita Coolidge will join 2016 Grammy Award nominee Rodney Crowell to perform the mega-hits of Will Jennings, while 2016 Grammy Award nominee Raúl Malo will light up the stage with some incredible hits of Roy Orbison!”
The TxHSA will also introduce Texas-born and Nashville-based singer-songwriterMignon Grabois in a special song tribute to lead off the show.
These artists join past inductees, who embody the spirit of Texas and its distinctive culture through songwriting, such as Guy Clark, Kris Kristofferson, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, K.T. Oslin, Townes Van Zandt, and many more.
acl txhsa
Earlier this year, in collaboration with both the TxHSA and The Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau, Texas songwriting troubadour Robert Earl Keen announced this new class of inductees during the 20th Annual Key West Songwriters Festival.

The award show wraps up a three-day Homecoming Weekend presented by TxHSA, in celebration of Texas’ rich culture, unique heritage and songwriting imprint upon the world’s stage of music. An exclusive VIP party at The Saxon Pub with performances by Jamey Johnson and Friends will kick off the weekend. A private Darrell K Royal Songwriters Homecoming party on February 20th at the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, with performances by Mac Davis, Raúl Malo, Rodney Clawsonand Nicolle Galyon, will precede the February 21st Hall of Fame Awards Show.

“Our Homecoming Weekend is a special time each year that our former honorees return from wherever they are now living to help celebrate the current honorees,” says TxHSA Founder and Executive Producer, Terry Boothe. “These individuals are vital to maintaining the rich Texas heritage that is respected and envied around the world, and we choose to honor them in a way that others can also participate in.”

Sunday’s Hall of Fame Awards Show will finish out TxHSA’s weekend-long Homecoming celebration and will be packed with performances from past inductees, Grammy Award nominees and recipients, and renowned songwriters and recording artists.
The Darrell K Royal Patron Award, recognizing one person each year for their enduring recognition and tireless support in the songwriting community, will be presented to Jody Williams, Vice President of BMI. Williams has guided numerous songwriters to great success, leading the writer/publisher activities in Nashville, all the while keeping a keen ear out for the greatest up-and-coming songwriters. Today, he serves on the boards of the Country Music Association (CMA), Country Music Foundation (CMF), Porter’s Call and Musicians Corner, is a mentor at the Nashville Entrepreneur Center and is a member of the National Association of Recording Arts & Sciences (NARAS), The Gospel Music Association (GMA), Leadership Music, The Academy of Country Music (ACM), and the Americana Music Association (AMA).
For sponsorship inquiries, contact Meredith Hannon:meredith@texasheritagesongwriters.com.

About TxHSA:

The Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association (TxHSA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to honoring and celebrating Texas songwriters who have played an important role in defining and interpreting Texas’ distinctive culture. Established in 2005, TxHSA has annually produced a weekend-long Homecoming celebration, including their Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Hall of Fame Awards Show, a public event which serves as an induction ceremony for its honorees each year.

# # #

For more information, please contact:
Jason Z. Guest (jzg@guestpublic.com)
at Guest Public – 512.703.0426

Related News