DKR Pickin’ Party

DKR Pickin’ Party

In honor of legendary Texas football coach Darrell K Royal and recognition of his admiration for our Texas Songwriters, this namesake private event occurs on the first night of our Hall of Fame Weekend. This sponsor-only celebration is held under the rotunda of the Bullock Texas State History Museum. It includes an evening of Texas celebration, unparalleled songwriter performances, camaraderie with past Hall of Fame members, special guest appearances, and both a silent and live auction.

On this evening, the Texas Heritage Songwriters Association also recognizes those who have provided support to songwriters by awarding them its Darrell K Royal/Texas Music Legend Award. Coach Royal, the original recipient, spent years supporting songwriters. Award recipients include James White, Ray Benson, Kent Finlay, Stephen Bruton, Billy Minick, Danny King, Robin Shivers, Bill Mack, BMI’s Jody Williams, Tamara Saviano, and Bobbie Nelson.

In 2022, our organization will recognize Gary Keller with the Texas Music Legend Award. Our VIP sponsors at the Bullock will enjoy a very special evening of performances by Verlon Thompson and Shawn Camp.

Our DKR Pickin’ Party has included past notable performances by Chris Stapleton, Jack Ingram, Lori McKenna, Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby, Raul Malo, and Toby Keith.

Visit HOF Gallery